Community Preservation Committee Fiscal Year 2014 Report

The members of the Shutesbury Community Preservation Committee during fiscal year 2014 have been Leslie Bracebridge, Susan Essig, Rita Farrell, Donald Fletcher, Al Springer, Linda Scott, and Allen Hanson.

The Community Preservation Committee began fiscal year 2014 with its annual review of what was learned during the prior year. The Shutesbury Community Preservation Plan was subsequently revised to include two improvements. Project evaluation criteria were added for funding requests involving Shutesbury's historic structures that are owned by individuals or private organizations. A concise one-page overview of the application and approval process was also added.

During FY 2014, the CPC received two applications for funding; both proposed to complete maintenance and restoration work on town-owned buildings. After reviewing the applications, the Community Preservation Committee determined that neither application was eligible for community preservation funding because the applications were not submitted or endorsed by the legal entity that was responsible for the buildings. The Annual Community Preservation public hearing was then convened to allow interested citizens to provide input, and to hear others' ideas about Shutesbury's needs, opportunities and resources for community preservation. In discussing ideas for worthwhile community preservation projects, it was recognized that successful projects depend on a group of committed volunteers to organize the project, to complete the thorough application and review process, and to oversee implementation through project completion. In the CPC's annual presentation to Town Meeting, those attending were reminded of the range of worthwhile community preservation projects that will meet town goals.

The Community Preservation Committee thanks the citizens of Shutesbury for its continuing interest, contributions, and support for our community's preservation projects.

Respectfully submitted by,

Junel/Patl

Donald Fletcher, Chair, Community Preservation Committee June 30, 2014